Member News

Mark Komrad, M.D..

The Southern Psychiatric Association is pleased to announce that Dr. Mark Komrad was recently appointed to be our Representative to the APA Assembly.

Samuel J. House, M.D.

We are pleased to announce that Dr. Samuel J. House is the 2014 recipient of the SPA Resident Award.  Dr. House is a 3rd year psychiatry resident from the University of Arkansas.  His submission is entitled "Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder in Pregnancy and the Postpartum Period: Course of Illness and Obstetrical Outcomes." He will be presenting at the upcoming LPMA/SPA Meeting in New Orleans, Louisiana, September 10-14, 2014.

Bernard Malloy, M.D.

The Southern Psychiatric Association would like to give special recognition and appreciation to Dr. Bernie Malloy for his 50 years of dedicated support and leadership to "the Southern."  Dr. Malloy and his wife, Patty, continue to be integral parts of our community and membership.

Paul O'Leary, M.D.
recently shared some of his thoughts regarding Obama's health care reform in an article entitled, "Health Care Reform, Timeline Revisited" which appeared in the Alabama Psychiatric Physicians Association's newsletter, The Freudian Slip, Issue 36, July 27, 2012.  To review this article, see

Timothy Jennings, M.D.,
has been selected as a Distinquished Fellow of the American Psychiatric Association. His second book, provisionally titled "The God-Shaped Brain: How Your View of God Transforms Your Life," was recently publishedby InterVarsity Press.