presents its
2015 AWARD
for Residents / Fellows

The Southern Psychiatric Association offers an annual award for a manuscript or abstract concerning basic or clinical research, or a scholarly review of literature, on a topic pertinent to psychiatry. The manuscript/abstract must be submitted by a resident in the territory comprising the membership of the Association.


Psychiatric Residents or Fellows are eligible to submit papers/ abstracts if they have not completed their residency or fellowship by June 30, 2015, and are enrolled in an approved graduate education program in one of the geographic areas from which the membership of the Southern Psychiatric Association is derived.  Eligible areas now include the entire United States.


  • $500 Honorarium if present at Annual Meeting
  • Invitation to Present Winning Paper at SPA’s 2015 Annual Meeting
  • Travel expenses up to $1000 to SPA’s Annual Meeting, September 30-October 4, 2015, at the Sheraton Read Hotel, Chattanooga, TN
  • Recognition for Award Winner’s Training Program
  • Assistance in Submitting Paper for Publication in an appropriate medical journal if needed


Applicants should submit an original and five (5) copies of the completed manuscript or abstract.  Manuscripts/abstracts must be typewritten, double-spaced, and include enough information that indicates that a 30- to 45-minute presentation could be derived from the abstract/manuscript.   Abstracts should be no longer than two pages long, and MUST include: Introduction, Purpose, Methods, Results, Discussion/Conclusions and at least 3 references.

Strong consideration will be given to the timeliness of the topic, applicability to a general psychiatric audience, and originality of the paper.  All submissions must be original, not previously published.  (The Association may not offer the award if there are no submissions of suitable quality.)


The final deadline for submission of manuscripts/abstracts is May 4, 2015, but applicants are encouraged to submit manuscripts as early as possible for consideration by the committee.


Southern Psychiatric Association
Attn: Susan Proctor
6501 N. Charles St.
Baltimore, Maryland   21204
Phone: 410-938-3403

Submission Deadline: May 4, 2015

2015 Resident Award Committee Members

Shilpa Srinivasan, MD, Chair, Columbia, SC
Jodie Holloway, MD, Mandeville, LA
Steve Daviss, M.D.,Glen Burnie, MD       Daniel Winstead, M.D., New Orleans, LA